The Guitar Refinishing and Restoration Forum Forum Index The Guitar Refinishing and Restoration Forum
This discussion forum is hosted by The Guitar ReRanch and was created to serve those interested in the arcane art/science of guitar refinishing and restoration. Those with all levels of experience are welcomed to participate.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

need help spraying a toner

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Guitar Refinishing and Restoration Forum Forum Index -> Guitar Finishing and Restoration
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jp-90

PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 11:30 pm    Post subject: need help spraying a toner Reply with quote

I'm trying a few new things on a cheap (free, actually) guitar kit. It's my first time using transtint dyes, aquacoat and an HVLP rig, so I've got a lot of variables going and I'm wide open to suggestions.

On the maple neck, I sprayed a wash coat (50/50 dewaxed shellac and alcohol). Then, I made a toner by adding transtint to more 50/50 shellac and alcohol and sprayed about 5 passes on the neck. This worked great--I was able to get the fender neck amber look I was going for before clear coating it.

For the basswood body I first applied aquacoat grainfiller. Then I tried spraying a dark toner, this time just transtint in alcohol. This looked horrible, so I sanded back the dye and tried out what worked with the neck. I sprayed a wash coat over the aquacoat, then made a toner with shellac again. This worked much better, but I ended up with a sort of mottled/freckled look. It's almost like orange peel, but without the usual texture.

Any idea what went wrong or how to correct? I tried misting alcohol on the toner coat, hoping it would reflow, but that didn't do anything.

Lon

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote